|December 27, 2022

VEGANISM: HISTORY AND ITS ORIGIN!

Introduction to Veganism

Veganism is a philosophy and way of living which seeks to exclude—to the greatest extent possible—all forms of exploitation of and cruelty towards animals for food, clothing, or any other purpose; by extension, promoting the development and use of animal-free alternatives for the benefit of both people and their environment. In dietary terms, veganism reflects consumption only of what comes from plants.

There are many ways to embrace the life of being a vegan. One thing all vegans have in common is their plant-based diet which avoids animal products, including meat, fish, shellfish, honey, and eggs, as well as materials that come from animals or places where animals perform for entertainment.

The idea of veganism and those practicing it have gained popularity in the modern world. It is so much so that vegans across the globe dedicate a day to celebrate 'World Vegan Day,' which falls on November 1st each year.

Vegetarians and vegans to avoid animal products for similar reasons - including health or environmental concerns. Vegetarians will abstain from eating meat but allow themselves to eat dairy and eggs. At the same time, Vegans will refrain entirely from these products because they believe that these by-products affect their health more significantly than other foods would.

At Alcoeats, you'll find a variety of vegan goods like Vegan Spices and Cashews. So please take advantage of our wide range of all-vegan products and embrace your plant-based lifestyle.

History Of Veganism

veganism

The vegan diet has been in existence for a long time now. In 1944, the first official definition of what vegans eat came about through The Vegan Society's efforts. However, it was in 1949 that Leslie J Cross pointed out that there wasn't an explicit definition of veganism. His suggestion was the principle of the emancipation of animals from exploitation by man, which can also be translated as seeking an end to the use of animals by man for food, commodities, work, hunting, vivisection, or all other services involving the exploitation of animal life by man.

The society first registered as a charity on August 1964 and later became a limited company in December 1979. Throughout the years, there were amendments and revisions of the definition of veganism and the charitable objects of society until 1988, when these amendments started using the phrase used today.

Types of Vegans

vegan cheese

Different vegans will list why they follow a vegan lifestyle and name them accordingly. Some became vegan for many reasons.

  1. Ethical vegans- Ethical vegans believe it is morally wrong to exploit animals as they strive to reduce animal suffering and protect them from harm whenever possible.
  2. Environmental Vegans- Environmental, or eco, vegans try to live a greener lifestyle and avoid animal products. Often caring about the environment, they sometimes will forgo certain items that need to travel far distances or ones not in season to reduce their carbon footprints further.
  3. Dietary Vegans - Many people find themselves on a vegan diet for health reasons. Most popular vegan documentaries focus on preventing disease or losing weight through a healthy vegan lifestyle.
  4. Religious vegans - This lesser-known type of vegan, the religion-inspired vegan, wants to reduce harm due to spiritual beliefs. The largest group of religious vegans are followers of Jainism - an ancient Indian religion - who abstain from all violence against animals. They see this principle as their highest duty and consume a non-violent or vegan diet.

Summing Up On the History & Origin Of Veganism

vegan protein

Veganism is a vegetarian diet made up of those who refuse to eat animal products such as eggs, dairy products, honey, or gelatin. The Greek philosopher and mathematician Pythagoras of Samos first mentioned a vegan lifestyle around 500 BCE when he advocated avoiding all forms of eating meat because he believed it would end human and animal suffering.

November 1st is World Vegan Day, a celebration of those abstaining from consuming animal or animal-derived products. Animals are not consumed for food, honey, fur or fur trimming, cosmetics such as lipstick and perfume (which sometimes include ingredients derived from animals), or any other purpose.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

What is the meaning of vegetarian food?

According to the Vegetarian Society, anyone who doesn't eat meat (including poultry, game, fish, and shellfish), fish-based products, or by-products of animal slaughter is a vegetarian. Vegetarians can have different levels of consumption of fruits, vegetables, grains, pulses (legumes), nuts, and seeds.

What are some vegan protein sources?

Vegans can get protein from nuts, peanut butter, seeds, grains, and legumes - non-animal products like tofu and soymilk also provide protein. Vegans must ensure they get complete proteins containing all the amino acids needed for optimal human health.

What are vegan cheeses made of?

They are usually made from soy, nuts, vegetable oils, and a wide variety of natural ingredients such as peas or arrowroot. Vegan cheeses are often considered healthier than standard dairy cheese and may even reduce your risk of heart disease because they contain less fat.

Is it easy to get vegan food near me?

There are many vegan-friendly foods at Alcoeats, but if you want something specific, we recommend checking out Alcoeats.com for all your ordering needs.

What are everyday vegan meals?

There are many different vegan dishes—here are just a few examples:

  • Tempeh bacon with sautéed mushrooms, avocado, and wilted arugula
  • whole-grain pasta topped off with lentil meatballs and a side salad
  • cauliflower and chickpea tacos with guacamole and pico de gallo

Get 30% OFF - SUBSCRIBE TODAY

Subscribe to our Recipe Newsletter for delicious recipes delivered to your inbox weekly!