FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Indian cuisine uses many grains like rice, corn, and millet, which are gluten-free. Some other common gluten-free ingredients include lentils, chickpeas, potatoes, vegetables, and spices. To replace wheat flour, Indian recipes use chickpea flour (besan) and rice flour. It is available in grocery stores and specialty markets—vegan sauces like coconut milk, tomato sauce, and tamarind paste used in Indian dishes.
Yes, traditional Indian recipes are adaptable to be gluten-free. Use gluten-free substitutes for wheat flour and other gluten-containing ingredients. For example, use gluten-free rice, tapioca flour, and potato starch instead of wheat flour to make roti or naan. Use cornstarch or arrowroot powder as a thickening agent instead of wheat flour for making curries or stews.
When eating gluten-free Indian food at a restaurant, discuss your dietary needs with the chef to ensure a safe meal preparation. You can ask about the ingredients used in a particular dish. Ask for gluten-free dishes, such as vegetable curries or lentil soups. Some restaurants may have gluten-free menus or options for customizing your preferences.
Chana Dal is gluten-free. It should be safe for patients with celiac and other gluten-related conditions.
Yes, gram flour or besan is gluten-free. It is also named garbanzo flour or chickpea flour. It would be best to ground gluten-free ground chickpeas naturally for its preparation.